Pesto!

This is one of my favorite pasta sauces, Pesto. It is healthy and very easy to make. Its ingredients are quite expensive, though.

Its main ingredient is Basil. The leaves of the sweet variety or the Genovese are the best to use. They are more aromatic and flavorful.

According to Natural Food Series, Basil belongs to the mint, lavender, and sage family. Its health benefits include the following:

  • Supports healthy brain
  • Manages arthritis
  • Manages stress
  • Slows down aging
  • Supports bone health
  • Manages epilepsy
  • Aids in metabolism
  • Relieves post-menstrual syndrome
  • Provides energy
  • Prevents cancer
  • Supports eye health

An authentic Pesto Sauce is made from the traditional Italian way of using a mortar and a pestle. Hence, the name pesto; it was derived from the words “to crush.” Ingredients are pounded in a mortar through a circular motion using a pestle until everything forms into a paste-like consistency. It’s not a smooth paste, but the minute chunks contribute to its texture.

Pesto is uncooked, therefore, the more it is ideal to use the freshest ingredients available as possible. When I prepare this, I just eyeball all the ingredients. However, I do not make it the traditional way, I only make use of the blender or food processor. Below are just estimates of the ingredients:

  • Approximately 250 grams to 300 grams washed and dried Fresh Basil Leaves, sliced or coarsely chopped
  • About a big bulb or more of Fresh Garlic, coarsely chopped
  • Extra-Virgin Olive Oil, depends on your preferred consistency
  • ¼ cup to 1/3 cup toasted Pine Nuts
  • ¼ cup or more grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Sea Salt and Ground Black Pepper to taste

In the blender, I first put a small amount of Extra-Virgin Olive Oil, some Basil Leaves and some Garlic. I blend for a few seconds, and then I alternately add the Basil Leaves, Garlic, Pine Nuts, and Parmesan Cheese, gradually adding the Extra-Virgin Olive Oil until all the ingredients are incorporated and an emulsion is created. Lastly, I season to taste with Sea Salt and Ground Black Pepper. Blend for a few seconds for the seasonings to meld with the sauce.

To store, pour into a clean and dry glass jar with air-tight lead; cover sauce with a thin film of Extra-Virgin Olive Oil; and tightly close the jar. Keep chilled inside the refrigerator; best to be consumed until three (3) days.

You can serve this with any pasta of your choice but I usually use Spaghetti noodles. To make it more appetizing, I sometimes top the Pesto Spaghetti with strips of Grilled Fish Fillet, or strips of Grilled Chicken Breast Fillet, or Grilled Shrimps (like in the photo). For a better presentation, garnish with Fresh Basil Leaves … and we can now enjoy savoring our pasta dish. Buon appetito!

Author: Maria Victoria Ado

I am a determined, persevering, and diligent person who is enthusiastic in pursuing a career as a Virtual Assitant. My intensive Digital Skills Training at Virtualahan, my past business experiences, and my previous rigorous education in Culinary Arts had equipped me with the necessary skills to become an efficient and effective Virtual Assistant. Please feel free to navigate my site to learn more about my qualifications. Thank you.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started